Holiday Presents :: Make Your Own Modern Kwanzaa Kinara

Photo from has a great DIY project for Kwanzaa - How to Create a Modern Kwanzaa Kinara. During Kwanzaa, candles are placed in a special candleholder called the Kinara.

There are seven candles (Mishumaa Saba) used, each representing one of the Seven Principles (Nguzo Saba) of Kwanzaa.

On each day of Kwanzaa a new candle is lit as a symbol of the Kwanzaa Nguzo, principle of that day. The candles will be lit in alternating colors.

First the black candle is lit, then the farthest left red candle, then the farthest right green candle, then the next red, then next green, then the last red, and then the final green.

Day 1 - Umoja, which means unity.
Day 2 - Kujichagulia, which means self-determination.
Day 3 - Ujima, which means working together.
Day 4 - Ujamaa, which means supporting each other.
Day 5 - Nia, which means purpose.
Day 6 - Kuumba, which means creativity.
Day 7 - Imani means faith, especially faith in ourselves.